Nana Oteng Korankye Offers Ten (10) Acres Of Land For Museum Project


Nana Oteng Korankye, Chief of Berekuso in the Akwapim South District of the Eastern Region has donated ten (10) acres of land to Good Governance Hall of Fame and Awards Group, a Research and Events Consultancy institution for the construction of a museum dubbed ‘Good Governance Hall of Fame edifice.’

At the launch of the project at Holiday Inn Hotel, Accra on Thursday, Nana Korankye II, who is also the Twafohene of Akwapim, opined that his palace is delighted to support projects which, among other things, have the potential to promote academic work as well as empower people economically.

“This is one project we cannot afford to lose, we see it as one which will benefit all players besides achieving its core objective of being a morale booster for public officials to work with greater integrity to improve standard of living,” he indicated.

The CEO of Good Governance Hall of Fame and Awards, Prince Mackay disclosed that the project entails the construction of a four storey multipurpose facility which will keep portraits, monuments, books, audio-visuals as well as relevant relics, among others.

Prisoner With Few Hours To Leave Prison Caught With “Wee”

He continued that it will also consist of actual halls which enshrine the honorees with sculptures, plaques, displays of memorabilia and general information regarding the inducted recipients.

“It is worth noting that the edifice will have four floors namely, the Executive to house portraits and Monuments of past and current Presidents and Vice Presidents of the republic, the second dedicated to the Legislature, Speakers of Parliament and distinguished Members of Parliament(MPs) and Ministers of State” including Metropolitan Municipal and District Chief Executives(MMDCEs), he stated.

According to him, the third and fourth floors will be for the Judiciary and Traditional Rulers.

“Our criteria for inducting awardees into the hall of fame is based on carefully worked out procedures by our research team and we believe that anyone who walks through sees it as a life time opportunity” he remarked.

Mr. Mackey explained that the induction event into the Hall of Fame will be an annual event with no limits to number of inductees within a year adding that the group has slated former President Jerry John Rawlings, John Agyekum Kufour, Kofi Annan and Alhaji Sheikh Dr. Sharabutu for the 2018 awards.

By Solomon Ofori